Nominations can now be made for the 2018 East Riding of Yorkshire Council’s Chairman’s Awards.

Chairman's awards

The annual awards, which are held at Brldington Spa in May, are presented to individuals, businesses and projects that have helped improve the East Riding over the last year. The awards will be presented by Councillor Caroline Fox, in what will be her last engagement as chairman before she ends her year in office.

The awards are broken down into five categories:

• Community – recognises groups and individuals for the contribution to improving lives of those living in the East Riding with a non-commercial project

• Built heritage – celebrates private homes, new builds or business premises that have been sympathetically renovated and restored

• Environment – recognises projects that have made an impact in the environment

• Business – recognises businesses that have helped the economy flourish

• Sport – celebrates local talent and commitment to sports clubs and activities.

There are some changes to the rules this year – nominees can only be entered in one category and an award winner cannot be nominated in the same category for a period of three years but can be entered for another.

Previous winners of the Chairman’s Business Award


Under 50 Employees – The Rocking Horse Shop Ltd, Fangfoss

51 and Over Employees – Rofin-Sinar UK Ltd, Willerby


Under 50 Employees – Harman’s Catering Services, Brough

51 and Over Employees – Sumo UK Ltd, Melbourne


Under 50 Employees – Wrygarth Inn, Great Hatfield

51 and Over Employees – Vivergo Fuels Limited, Saltend


Under 50 Employees – Drewton’s Ltd, South Cave

51 and Over Employees – Agenda Security Services, Burstwick


Under 50 Employees – Drewton’s Ltd, South Cave

50 and Over Employees – Simon Gibson Transport, Goole


Under 50 Employees – Pure Renewables Limited, Cottingham

51 and Over Employees – O&H Vehicle Conversions, Goole


Under 50 Employees – Drewton’s Ltd, South Cave

51 and Over Employees – Elite Office Furniture, Goole

Councillor Fox said: “I’d urge people to think about their communities and think if there are people they know of who deserve some recognition for the work they do to make the areas they live a better place.”

For more information or to submit a nomination go to or email or contact Sarah Asquith, civic officer at East Riding of Yorkshire Council on (01482) 393260.

The closing date for nominations is Wednesday, 31 January 2018.

<< Back to News